The iPhone is one of the best smartphones you can buy these days, owing to its excellent camera and many features. Photographers will undoubtedly enjoy exploring the latest camera enhancements included in iOS 16, specifically the ability to enhance the depth-of-field effect in portrait mode photos and cinematic mode videos. Because of the iPhone’s many camera modes and simple editing capabilities, anyone who enjoys taking photos and recording videos will quickly run out of phone storage space.
If you’ve ever had this problem, the first thing you try to do to free up some iPhone real estate is to uninstall unused apps or delete unwanted photos and videos from the Photos app. The latter is typically a time-consuming process that requires a deep dive and manually selecting them for deletion, but thanks to a new feature included in iPhones running iOS 16, doing so should only take a couple of taps.
The Photos app has a few new features in iOS 16, including a handy photo and video detection system that automatically finds duplicate images, making it easier to clean up your camera roll and free up much-needed storage space. Duplicates can be exact photo or video copies with slightly different metadata, or media files saved on the mobile device multiple times. They could also be photos that appear similar at first glance but have minor differences, such as file formats or resolution rates.
Something will conveniently store any automatically identified duplicates in an iPhone album called “Duplicates,” which can be found by launching the Photos app, tapping on “Albums,” and scrolling down to the “Utilities” section. When you’re in the right album, duplicate photos and videos should be conveniently arranged next to each other so you can review them more easily. You can either delete any duplicates or simply merge the files into one that can be saved in your iPhone photo library.
When you select “Merge” on any set of duplicates (according to Apple), the version with the highest quality will be retained. Someone will keep as well all relevant data shared by all file versions. We will move every other copy to the “Recently Deleted” album, which is also accessible via the “Utilities” section.
Read more; NETFLIX NAMES BOZOMA SAINT JOHN AS CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER
Going through all the duplicate file sets in the “Duplicates” album before merging is a good habit to develop, just in case Apple misidentified any photo or video as a carbon copy that should be discarded. If you’re willing to take the risk and trust the iPhone’s duplicate detection algorithm, you can mass-approve the merging of all listed matches by tapping “Select” in the top-right corner of the Duplicates page, then “Select All,” followed by “Merge (number)” at the bottom. If you change your mind, simply go to the “Recently Deleted” album and recover any deleted copies, assuming you haven’t permanently emptied the folder. Please keep in mind that if no duplicate items were found in your camera roll, the Duplicates album will be empty.